Main / Partners / Austria / University of Graz

Karl-Franzens-Universitaet Graz (AT)

The University of Graz was founded in 1585 by Archduke Karl II of Inner Austria, including a Philosophical and a Theological Faculty at the Jesuit College.

After the transformation in a Lyceum it was re-opened as Karl-Franzens-University by the Emperor Franz I. in 1827.

1862 the Institute of physics was built as the first building on the new campus. Here had worked Ernst Mach, Ludwig Boltzmann, Erwin Schroedinger and Victor Hess, the discoverer of cosmic rays. The institute consists of 3 departments: Experimental physics (surface physics, nano-optics, magnetometry), Theoretical physics (strong interactions, solide state physics, computational physics) and the department of Astrophysics, Meteorology and Geophysics. At this department worked the famous Alfred Wegener, the discoverer of the continental drift.


Institute of physics:

The following people have been involved in the SUPERCOMET 2 project:




Leopold Mathelitsch Workgroup leader  
Gerhard Rath Project participant  
Heimo Latal Project participant