Main / Partners / Austria


Austria (German : Österreich), officially the Republic of Austria (German : Republik Österreich) , is a landlocked country in Central Europe . It borders both Germany and the Czech Republic to the north, Slovakia and Hungary to the east, Slovenia and Italy to the south, and Switzerland and Liechtenstein to the west. The capital city is the city of Vienna on the Danube River .

The origins of modern Austria date back to the ninth century, when the territory of Upper and Lower Austria became increasingly populated. The name "Ostarrichi" is first documented in an official document from 996. Since then this word has developed into the Modern German word Österreich.